Halloween Read-A-Thon

halloween-readathon

Hellooo guys! I wil be joining the Halloween Read-A-Thon next month! It´s a challenge by Lauren @WonderlandReviews. October is my favorite month and Halloween´s my favorite holiday. Even though we don´t celebrate it here in Germany, as much as in the english speaking countries. But the costumes, the horror and scary movies or books and the candy! Halloween is just plain awesome! And this one will be extra special, it will be all about books! But now let me give you more infos:

  • It´s from the 10th – 31st of October
  • Everyone can join any time!
  • The books have to be horror or thriller or something supernatural
  • I will choose at least six books

 

costume-party

Pretty self explanatory. There’s no “guidelines” if you think a cover is creepy for whatever reason then it counts!

I think I will read ReMade and the episodes, that are available until the end of october.  It was in last Owlcrate box! https://www.serialbox.com/serials/5755b744ada6e220cd1d9948

 

haunted-house

By Supernatural or Paranormal I mean books that feature things such as: ghosts, vampires, witches, werewolves ect.

I still have my Owlcrate book of september: Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake. That will definately be a candidate for the Read-A-Thon! I will also write a recommendation for Carry On by Rainbow Rowell. And since it´s about magic and vampires etc, it fits perfectly, too. Plus I really want to read Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo.

 

urban-legends

In my opinion people are scarier than monsters so for Horror or Thriller this means a book where real people are the ones who are causing all the scariness.

I may read The shining or Pet Sematary by Stephen King. Normally I don´t read thriller or horror books. I´m not sure why, I always want to. It´s just nor really relaxing for me. But that doesn´t matter, I will try this october (so excited!).

 

witching-hour1

Again, pretty self explanatory. Fun fact: the witching hour is 3am-4am, but obviously I’m not going to force you all to read at that time . Unless you’re like me and have insomnia. So just read a book after the sun has set! This doesn’t have to be done in one night! You can read a book at night for the duration of the read-a-thon.

This is pretty easy, since the sun is going down at 8 pm or later in october in Germany. And I don´t have to wake up early. 😀

trick-or-treat

There’s two options for this challenge. You can choose TRICK and read a scary book you’ve been putting off OR you can choose TREAT and read any book you want from ANY genre (not just horrors ect.)

I´ve been putting off: Frankenstein, Dracula and Dr.Jackyll and Mr Hyde. Who knows, maybe I will finally read one of those in october! Or if not, I will read a very different book instead (of I´ll do both).

all-hallows-eve

Read six books! Your sixth book can be any scary book you want. Only do this if you want! I know how it is to feel intimidated by read-a-thons so I really wanted to try and make this as relaxing as possible. There’s probably no way I’m going to be able to do this, but it’s fun to try!

So here is my final TBR! I’m also doing 2 October challenges on Instagram, you might check it out (TheVeryBookishMe)!

 TBR:

  1. Six Of Crows
  2. Three Dark Crowns
  3. Carry On
  4. Frankenstein
  5. The Shining &/ Miss Peregrines home for perciular children
  6. H.P.Lovecrafts Classic Stories

I used the banters from the Lauren´s blog, GO check it out to get more informations of the Read-A-Thon !! I think this project is a great idea and I´m sure it will be a lot of fun. The Hashtag for Instagram and other soial networks is: #HalloweenWR 

https://wonderlessreviews.wordpress.com/2016/09/17/%F0%9F%91%BB%F0%9F%8E%83-halloween-read-a-thon-announcement-info-%F0%9F%8E%83%F0%9F%91%BB/

 

 

7 Gedanken zu “Halloween Read-A-Thon

  1. Lizzy schreibt:

    I considered Three Dark Crowns, too – but then decided I already had enough on my list, haha. I picked a couple of horror classics…I’ve never read Dracula, and I picked up an audio version that is AWESOME so far.

    Gefällt 1 Person

Kommentar verfassen

